The IDF Award 2016

The IDF Award 2016 went to Prof. Jelen (CA), Dr Kelly (IE) and Dr Marshall (NZ).

The 2016 IDF Award was presented to three outstanding nominees: Prof. Jelen (CA), Dr Kelly (IE) and Dr Marshall (NZ). The first nominee, Prof. Paul Jelen has been awarded the IDF Award for his notoriety through his many and varied impactful contributions to the dairy and broader food industries during a career that has spanned nearly half a century. Prof. Jelen has had the greatest impact in the field of dairy science and technology, from impactful research and development, to industrial outcomes that have shaped the dairy industry, to seminar publications, to teaching and mentoring our future leaders, and to global outreach and collaboration. Prof. Jelen has been a true pioneer and leader in the dairy and food industries.

The second nominee, Dr Phil Kelly has contributed largely to international progress in the field of dairy science and technology, especially in the field of applied research in dairy technology across many fields, over a career that has spanned nigh on 41 years. Phil has also been a champion of IDF both in Ireland and overseas in many countries across the dairy world.

The third nominee, Dr Kevin Marshall has made a truly outstanding contribution to the global dairy industry and broader food sector which he continues through to the current day as Chairman of the Riddet Institute – the Centre of Research Excellence in Food Science and Technology in New Zealand, as Chairman of the Industry Advisory Panel for the New Zealand High Value Nutrition National Science Challenge and as Chairman of the New Zealand Food Safety Research Centre. In addition Dr Marshall is or has been a director on a wide range of other food and primary industry boards.

His outstanding contribution to the IDF included numerous science and technical contributions and in governance most notably as the inaugural Chair of the SPCC and Vice-Chair of the Codex Milk Committee.

The IDF Award recognizes remarkable contributions to progress in dairying worldwide and is attributed on the basis of submissions by IDF National Committees.

Join us in congratulating the three nominees for their outstanding expertise and contribution to dairy education and industry!